Department Honors Volunteers with Presidential Service Award

by | May 10, 2011 | Uncategorized

On May 9, 2011, the Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Department announced that it had awarded 32 volunteers with the President’s Volunteer Service Award, a national honor offered in recognition of volunteer service.

Established in 2003, the Award is available on an annual basis to individuals, groups and families who have met or exceeded requirements for volunteer service and have demonstrated exemplary citizenship through volunteering. As one of thousands of Certifying Organizations participating in the Award program, Fairfax County Fire and Rescue confers the award to recognize the outstanding achievements of its volunteers.

The members of the Volunteer Departments in Fairfax County have a long history of volunteer service, and more than 682 volunteers perform community service each year on behalf of the organization. In calendar year 2010, the volunteers put in over 200,000 hours of service time.

“In his 2002 State of the Union Address, President George W. Bush created the USA Freedom Corps, and called on every American to make a lifelong commitment to volunteer service. The President’s Volunteer Service Award recognizes individuals and families who have answered that call,” said Jeffrey Katz, Volunteer Liaison, of the Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Department.

“America’s volunteers work to make our communities stronger and safer. As a Certifying Organization for the Award program, Fairfax County Fire and Rescue is proud to be aligned with this prestigious volunteer award, and we are especially proud of our volunteers who have made volunteer service a central part of their lives.”

The President’s Volunteer Service Award is an award for volunteer service that every American – from every age and every walk of life – can aspire to achieve. To be eligible to receive the Award, individuals, families and groups submit a record of their annual volunteer service hours to participating Certifying Organizations, such as the Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Department, that will verify the service and deliver the Award. Award eligibility for individuals and groups is based on hour requirements varying by age.

“These recipients of the President’s Volunteer Service Award are role models for all Americans,” Mr. Katz said. “Each volunteer hour contributed makes a difference in improving the quality of life for others, and I encourage everyone to contribute to our community by volunteering. Volunteers bring us closer together as families, as communities and as a Nation, through their commitment.”

The Award is issued by the President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation, a group created by President Bush to recognize the valuable contributions volunteers are making to our Nation. Chaired by two-time Super Bowl Champion Darrell Green, with former U.S. Senators Bob Dole and John Glenn as honorary co-chairs, the Council comprises leaders in government, media, entertainment, business, education, nonprofits and volunteer service organizations, and community volunteering.

For more information about how to qualify for the President’s Volunteer Service Award and to find out how to identify additional volunteer opportunities in this area, visit or call 1-866-545-5307.

The following volunteers each put in over 1,000 hours of service to their communities in 2010, qualifying them for the President’s Volunteer Service Award: Miriam Alonso, Thomas Baldwin, Sarah Bowman, Scott Burns, Steve Chen, Paul Filipowicz, Darren Green, Monica Haley, Jake Hill, John Hudak, Gene Jacob, Jim Jordan, Andreas Maple, Corey Merdler, Blake Payne, Natalie Potell, John “JR” Rose, Mark Servello, Dan Sweet, Michael Wendt, Brian Witt.

In addition, the volunteers listed below have served more than 4,000 hours since July 2007, qualifying them for the Lifetime Award: Cody Collins, Joan Dempsey, Tim Fleming, Raju Khemani, Pete Kirby, Don Melick, Jeffrey Sargent, Jeff Snow, Shawn Stokes, Roger Waller, Tom Warnock.