Vienna VFD Honors Members at Volunteer Appreciation Event

by | Mar 17, 2013 | Uncategorized

Vienna, Va. — The Vienna Volunteer Fire Department recognized 11 people during its annual Volunteer Appreciation and Awards Banquet last month. The winners were:

Firefighter of the Year
Holly Harrison

Emergency Medical Technician of the Year
Michael Medwedeff

Volunteer of the Year
Michael Medwedeff

Chief’s Award
Christopher Cikra, Monica Haley, and Corey Merdler

President’s Award
Jean Schafer

Robert Hunter Award
Technician Eric Bartholomew, Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Department

Kate Johnson Awards (two winners)
Anthony Stancampiano
Vera Lloyd

Vera Lloyd President’s Award
Dagny Shiells

Auxiliary’s Volunteer of the Year
Dagny Shiells

Leon Freeman Award
Howard Springsteen (Vice Mayor of  Town of Vienna)

The department’s 110 operational and administrative volunteers provided nearly 29,000 volunteer hours last year, making it one of the most active volunteer companies in the County.

The awards ceremony took place on Feb. 9 at Vienna Fire Station, located at 400 Center Street South in Vienna. 

See also:
Sun Gazette coverage: Vienna Volunteer Fire Department Bestows Annual Awards (front page, Feb. 28)

Vienna VFD is a partner in the Fairfax County Volunteer Fire and Rescue Association and is part of the County’s Fire and Rescue Department.  Learn more about the Vienna Volunteer Fire Department at  (3/17/2013)